Dear Mr. or Mrs. Fix-It,


Do you ever find your mind stubbornly fixed on negative things and no matter how hard you try to refocus onto something nice and positive, the negative thoughts sneak right back in there before you even know what happened? That happens to me all the time. Only, lots of times, I don’t even try to refocus. Lots of times, I think about negative things on purpose. I know that sounds crazy. But I do it. Don’t misunderstand, I don’t try to make myself miserable. I just think about my problems way too much.
Normally, all this thinking is my way of trying to figure out how to fix whatever is wrong. I’m a “fixer”. Are you? Are you compelled to figure out why things are going wrong in your life (and often, in the lives of those around you), so that you can fix it? I have to admit that I am definitely a fixer. But, make no mistake… There is no shame in being a fixer. We fixers are some of the most loving, caring and compassionate people around! Unfortunately, we are also among the most stressed, the most exhausted and the most miserable.
It doesn’t matter that our motives are noble; we spend too much time focusing on the problems, the negative things. We think about the things that are wrong way more often than we think about what is going right in our worlds. No wonder we are miserable! And you know what? Most of the things we worry about are things that are completely beyond our control! We stress ourselves out because we try to fix the humanly “unfix-able”!
The LORD has been working with me lately on trusting Him more. He has been gently encouraging me to let Him take care of all my problems. Psalm 55:22 is an amazingly comforting piece of scripture, particularly for us fixers! This is what it says, “Cast your burden on the Lord [releasing the weight of it] and He will sustain you; He will never allow the [consistently] righteous to be moved (made to slip, fall, or fail).” (Amplified Bible). What a fantastic promise this is!
Precious Mr./Mrs. Fix it, No matter how hard you try, no matter how earnest your desire to make it all better, you will never be able to fix it all! But don’t stress at the thought of all you can’t do! Because there are no more competent hands in which to place your troubles, than those of our loving Creator!
Letting go is definitely not an easy thing to do. And it doesn’t happen instantly. But you can commit yourself to begin the process today. Little by little, one small piece at a time, you can surrender your problems and worries to our LORD. He promises to sustain you. He promises to never let you fall. And He is faithful!
So, instead of focusing on all that is wrong today, let’s try to concentrate on all that is right! It’s amazing how many blessings you discover when your eyes… and your heart… are open to see them!
“…brethren, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of reverence and is honorable and seemly, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely and lovable, whatever is kind and winsome and gracious, if there is any virtue and excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think on and weigh and take account of these things [fix your minds on them].” Philippians 4:8 (Amplified Bible)
Trusting in HIM,
~Shirley~

About Shirley Ann Washam

I am an extremely blessed, divorced mother of four AMAZING children. Above that, I am a child of God! I pray that He would use this blog to speak through me to those who are hurting and discouraged. My goal is to share whatever is given by our LORD to uplift and encourage those who, like me, are blessed beyond measure, but still sometimes find themselves struggling to find answers and need a little encouragement. If you are in need of encouragement, I pray that you find it here, in the words that He speaks through me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear Mr. or Mrs. Fix-It,

  1. Nancy says:

    Shirley, I came across your blog from today’s Proverbs 31 Woman’s Facebook post. You suggested in your post to read your blog. I’ve just finished reading all of your recent posts. I want to be where you are today!…but I am where you were. I am struggling here as you sounded like you were. I’m just to my wits end. I’m frustrated, angry, hurt, worried, lonely, sad, exhausted… I’m frustrated with God though I know he is near and has not left me, but I don’t understand why I am in this spot. I have ceased my prayer time because I’m so frustrated. I know God is there and small things happen that I know in my heart he allowed to happen…but it’s not enough, I’m thankful, but I’m not grateful- I want more. I want all my problems to go away and then I’d be happy… Though the attitude I have I wouldn’t be happy then either. I’m married and especially that is not good… My husband is so many times more problems than he’s worth, which is true but not only him- I am one of my biggest problems too. I am so negative I don’t see hardly any positives. I don’t know how to be grateful and I’m sure not very happy.
    I don’t understand why I feel like this and other people have joy. I’m afraid I will grow to be an angry bitter old woman, I’m almost there I’ve got the angry and bitter going well.
    I need a conversation to happen like you had with your Aunt, I need God to kick me in the pants, I need my head screwed on better. I need something!

Share your thoughts...

