Timeless Inspiration


While I am choosing not to share the details, today was a big day for me, as well as for my family. It was such a big day that I had trouble sleeping last night, which caused me to oversleep this morning. When I did wake up, I jumped from my bed and frantically rushed to get myself ready to go. I had to be somewhere that was very important.. and I had to be there SOON!! For the sake of the privacy of my family, we will refer to today’s event as a “meeting”. The meeting began promptly at 9am. I woke up around 7:45. My alarm was set for 6:oo am.
Because I woke up late, I didn’t have time to read my devotional and my time of prayer today was spent in the car as I was, very quickly, driving the meeting.
I really don’t like it when my day starts out this way. It kind of sets the tone for the whole day. When my mornings go like this, I normally feel like I’m in a rush and running behind all day long, even if I am actually caught up and I am on time.
After the meeting (which ended up going very well), I came home and just sat in my car for a little while, reflecting on parts of the meeting that stuck out in my mind. Then I remembered that I had brought my devotional book along with me, just in case I had a few minutes to rad it. I have been reading a very uplifting and inspiring devotional called,
Jesus Calling ~ Enjoying Peace in His Presence ~ By: Sarah Young
There is a entry for each day of the year. Each devotion is dated with the day of the month. Below, I am going to share the devotion for today, June 26th. I can’t tell you how appropriate this devotion is and how amazingly that it fits with the recent events in my life. I find it quite thrilling that this book was published in 2004, over nine years ago. I have no idea when Ms. Young actually wrote the book. But I have no doubt that as she was writing it, more than nine years ago, the Holy Spirit was giving her every word that she was writing. He knew that, on this particular day, I would desperately need to read these words. He knew, way back then, that I would be greatly comforted and encouraged by the devotional reading dated, June 26.
I’m not saying that this book was specifically written just for me. I know that thousands of others have read it’s pages and have been just as comforted and encouraged as I have been. I know that these words were given to Sarah by the Holy Spirit, for each and every person who would ever open the book. What I am saying is that, My all knowing Heavenly Father directed me to this book, and He is using it every single day to personally speak to me, through the words that He gave to Sarah Young over nine years ago. This makes me feel so loved and so very special to Him. What a wonderful God we serve!!
You know what? He has done the same thing with His Word, the Bible. It is a book that is timeless. It’s promises apply today, just as they did thousands of years ago! Every word in it was inspired by the Spirit of God. Every time we open it’s cover and read through the pages, He speaks to us directly, about the circumstances of our lives, about the problems that we struggle with and His promises apply to every one of them!
I am so thankful for a Heavenly Father who knows my needs long before I do and who loves me enough to meet each and every one of them!

“STAY CALMLY conscious of Me today, no matt4er what. Remember that I go before you as well as with you into the day. Nothing takes Me by surprise. I will not allow circumstances to overwhelm you, so long as you look to Me. I will help you cope with whatever the moment presents. Collaborating with M e brings blessings that will far outweigh all your troubles. Awareness of My Presence contains joy that can endure all eventualities.”

Psalm 23:1-4
Amplified Bible (AMP)
Psalm 23
A Psalm of David.
1 The Lord is my Shepherd [to feed, guide, and shield me], I shall not lack.
2 He makes me lie down in [fresh, tender] green pastures; He leads me beside the still and restful waters.
3 He refreshes and restores my life (my self); He leads me in the paths of righteousness [uprightness and right standing with Him—not for my earning it, but] for His name’s sake.
4 Yes, though I walk through the [deep, sunless] valley of the shadow of death, I will fear or dread no evil, for You are with me; Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], they comfort me.

2 Corinthians 4:16-17
Amplified Bible (AMP)
16 Therefore we do not become discouraged (utterly spiritless, exhausted, and wearied out through fear). Though our outer man is [progressively] decaying and wasting away, yet our inner self is being [progressively] renewed day after day.
17 For our light, momentary affliction (this slight distress of the passing hour) is ever more and more abundantly preparing and producing and achieving for us an everlasting weight of glory [beyond all measure, excessively surpassing all comparisons and all calculations, a vast and transcendent glory and blessedness never to cease!],

Find out more about this fantastic book here

About Shirley Ann Washam

I am an extremely blessed, divorced mother of four AMAZING children. Above that, I am a child of God! I pray that He would use this blog to speak through me to those who are hurting and discouraged. My goal is to share whatever is given by our LORD to uplift and encourage those who, like me, are blessed beyond measure, but still sometimes find themselves struggling to find answers and need a little encouragement. If you are in need of encouragement, I pray that you find it here, in the words that He speaks through me.
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Timeless Inspiration

  1. Lori says:

    I read that devotional every morning too!!! It’s beautiful.

Share your thoughts...

