Not by Sight


I am (slowly) learning to walk by faith and NOT by sight. When I walk by sight, things can sometimes look discouraging, painful, and very, VERY frightening! Each step is unsteady. I sometimes pace with worry or stop right there in my tracks, looking around me at my circumstances, overwhelmed with confusion and fear; or looking back at painful events of the past.

When I walk by sight, focused on the troubles of life, I tend to view God through the clouded lens of my circumstances. 

When I walk by faith, I see my circumstances through the truth of God’s Word. Each step is taken with trust in Him and in His promises. I move forward with hope, resting in the assurance of His Faithfulness. When I walk by faith, focused on God, the Truth of His Word and the unshakeable Faithfulness of His love, His mercy and His grace, He gives me peace. He doesn’t offer just a short lived circumstantial peace. He offers His peace… peace that passes all understanding. My circumstances haven’t changed. I still have the same troubles as before. Only my outlook has changed. Sure, I still hurt. I still have questions and burdens; but when I walk by faith, I can move forward in peace and safety. For, even though I don’t know His plan; even though I don’t have all the answers; even though I don’t know what my future holds, I have faith in The One Who does! And this is His PROMISE to me, “… I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

Trusting ONLY in Him,

~Shirley~

About Shirley Ann Washam

I am an extremely blessed, divorced mother of four AMAZING children. Above that, I am a child of God! I pray that He would use this blog to speak through me to those who are hurting and discouraged. My goal is to share whatever is given by our LORD to uplift and encourage those who, like me, are blessed beyond measure, but still sometimes find themselves struggling to find answers and need a little encouragement. If you are in need of encouragement, I pray that you find it here, in the words that He speaks through me.
This entry was posted in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts...

